Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fail after 172
(11-26-2014, 01:13 AM)fixkick Wrote: HOT bogging, but not at WOT.
misfiring is violent car , engine and shift handle shakes, this is not bogging it is gross misfiring.
my wild guess is the fuel pressure is no good. (i always check it, even CAR moving fast)

1: bad fuel pressure, (flow) only fuel pressure gauges work here, not squirt tests, or other guessing.
2: ECU inputs wrong. (any) MAF, ECT , or TPS. in that order, My guess is ECT is ok, because the ECU goes to hot mode at 176f , as it should.
3: Injectors bad. or ECU is not pulsing them correctly. (bad ecu)lots of tests. ask. its all on my injector pages or FSM.

Newbie here, sorry to jump in, and not sure if same as problem I had, but I had a problem some years back where my car ran ok cold, then when hot and warmed up, bogged and just got worse
Thanks, and yes.
was yours 8v or 16v?, his is 8, and the works differently....

yes, #1 on my list , bad fuel pressure, there are 3 tests alone on the REG.

(harbor freight as a 20 buck gauge, and ends all the guessing with 15min work, with the suzuki hose for free. in the deal.)

The regs, are mostly all bad, now, this is a very old car, they have many failure mode. (stick open closed or leaking)
stuck open, (causes (8v) causes low fuel pressure, and bogging at all times HOT and for sure WOT)
stuck closed, extreme high fuel pressure, 60PSI (spec) and higher, seen 65 on many this will double fuel rates..... real bad this.....
PLUS IT WILL: (60psi) over 41 is totally WRONG.

and horrid rich, and fill everything with fuel, oil pan, exhaust
and will cause black smoke (called unburned fuel) out the tail pipe, (breathing it) just as the CAT converter glows red and burns out .
it also cause misfiring, badly as the spark plug tips all turn black.
Lots of evidence there and MISFIRE. yes, do look at spark tips...