Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1997 Sidekick Sport
I'm a newbie, but I have been reading and trying to absorb a lot! I just acquire a 1997 sidekick sport with 199,000 miles.  According to the PO, it started overheating and after new thermostat (several), new radiator, new water pump, and new fan clutch, he parked the vehicle.  I am not familiear with these engines at all!

I trailered the vehicle home, added water to the radiator, letting the car idle with front on incline.  I idles in the drive and drove around the neighborhood.  The temp really didn't reach the center point of the gauge, so I "cleaned" the gauge sensor and turned on the heater.  The gauge worked as should, but didn't overheat.  I do not want to run engine before I determine cause.

There is not any water in the oil, that I can tell.  After running the vehicle, and cooling, I do have to add coolant.  Staring the engine, observing the coolant flow, no bubbles at the initial startup.  After about 15 seconds the radiator does bubble over.

I assume this is a head gasket issue?  I do have a check engine code.

It appears the engine has been maintained, hoses look good and do not look like original.  PCV valve looks like it was changed at some point and air cleaner is in good shape.  I do not notice a clatter in the engine, but my hearing is not the best.

I plan to do a major tune-up, replacing sensors and components that look like they have been in vehicle for years.

Any recommendations to check or change?  Should I do a ring job because of mileage?  I imagine the timing chain tensioners need checking.

Thanks, this is a great forum!

Hoopt
(02-13-2021, 02:05 AM)Hoopt Wrote: I'm a newbie, but I have been reading and trying to absorb a lot! I just acquire a 1997 sidekick sport with 199,000 miles.  
According to the PO, it started overheating (what proof of that?)